Primary School Quiz

Eastwood President Ronnie Munn and Quizmaster General Peter Daniels

Once again, our Primary School Quiz for schools across East Renfrewshire drew a great turnout of teams with 14 participating in total.

With 60 questions to get through, it meant a tough afternoon's work for the youngsters who stepped up to the mark once again.


Question master Peter Daniels presented an excellent series of pictorial questions to keep everyone on their toes.


Drew Hughes of Barrhead Rotary with the winning Hillview Primary team.

Seperate trophies were up for grabs for the teams entered via Eastwood Rotary Club and the Rotary Club of Barrhead.

Hillview Primary won in the Barrhead section, seen here with Past District Governor Drew Hughes.




President Ronnie Munn of Eastwood Rotary Club was delighted to present the winners' trophy to Our Lady of the Mission Primary School.

The winning team for Eastwood was Our Lady of the Mission (now four time winners!) pictured here with Eastwood Rotary President Ronnie Munn.

Many thanks to the teachers and parents who ensured the quiz could go ahead in such an organised and fine spirited manner.

The winning teams now go forward to the District Finals at Pollokshaws Burgh Hall, on Tuesday 22nd May 2018


Peter Daniels - Organiser
Colin Hunter - Scorekeeper
Winners - Our Lady of the Missions

Nine primary schools in East Renfrewshire battled for the honour of the Eastwood & Barrhead Rotary Primary School Quiz Shield.

Last year’s winners, Mearns Primary, hosted the event but were pushed into second place by a fine performance from Our Lady of the Missions Primary School. Their winning score of 65 out of a possible 72 was 4 points ahead of their hosts for the event.

Meantime, St. Thomas’ Primary School also put in a fine performance and were just 2 points further back in third place.

Eastwood Rotarian Peter Daniels, who organised the event, commented “The buzz in the room is always electric and this year it seemed even more so. All teams played to a very high level, and it took a fantastic effort by OLM to take the top spot.”

The full list of teams was Mearns, Thornliebank, Springhill and Auchenback, Eaglesham, St. Marks, Calderwood Lodge, Our Lady of the Missions, St. Thomas’ and St Cadoc’s.

Photographs - Rob Wilkinson


DSCF6921Seven Primary Schools put forward their teams of four bright young things to make this year's Primary School Quiz yet another closely fought tussle.

We are forever amazed at how much knowledge these youngsters have about all sorts of topics and this year was no different. Last year's winners, Our Lady of the Mission, were replaced by a new name on the shield as Carolside Primary took the honours.

Our incoming President Margaret MacDonald was on hand to present the shield while quiz organiser and question writer, Rotarian Peter Daniels looked on. Many thanks to all seven schools and their teachers for coming along and making it such a great competition. The primary schools represented were Busby, Carolside, Eaglesham, Mearns, Our Lady of the Mission, St John's and St Marks's.

Special thanks to Our Lady of the Mission for hosting the event, all the teachers, the Rotarians who invigilated and last, but not least, the children for their efforts.